Conference-Banner PM-min.jpg
H.E. Kjell Magne Bondevik

Former Prime Minister of Norway

Conference of 25 May 2021

Democracy and Human Rights as Basis for Lasting Peace

Keynote speakers

UMEF allowed its students and faculty to have the privilege of attending lectures by exceptional keynote speakers of different backgrounds. Among them were former presidents, prime ministers, ministers and other personalities with distinguished careers and experience.

Prime Minister Norway - Kjell Magne-min.

H.E. Kjell Magne Bondevik 
Former Prime Minister of Norway

  • Prime Minister of Norway for 2 terms

  • Norwegian Lutheran minister and politician

  • President of the Oslo Centre for Peace and Human Rights

  • Minister of Foreign Affairs 1989–1990

  • Minister of Church and Education 1983–1986

  • Prime Minister Willoch's deputy 1985–1986

  • State secretary 1972-1973

Read more

President of Malta.jpg

H.E. Dr George Vella
President of Malta

  • The tenth President of the Republic of Malta
  • One of eight ‘Eminent Persons’ from the Commonwealth
  • Companion of Honour of the National Order of Merit (Malta)
  • Knight Commander of the Order of St Michael and St George (UK)
  • Gran Croce ‘ pro-Merito Melitense’ of the Sovereign Military Order of Malta (SMOM)
  • Cavaliere di Gran Croce del’Ordine di Sant’Agata (San Marino)
  • Grand Commandeur de l’Ordre de l’Honneur (Hellenic Republic).

Read more

M. Thierry Apothéloz


State Councillor of the Canton of Geneva

  • State Councillor of the Canton of Geneva

  • Head of the Cantonal Department of Social Cohesion

  • Administrative advisor to Vernier town 2003-2018

  • Member of the Grand Council of the Canton of Geneva 2001-2003

  • Vernier town councillor 2000-2001

  • General (Legislative) Councillor of Le Locle 1997-1999

Read more


HEM Nasser Kamel


Secretary-General, Union for the Mediterranean

  • Secretary-General, Union for the Mediterranean

  • Ambassador of Egypt to the United Kingdom from 2014 to 2018

  • Ambassador of Egypt to France in the period 2006-2012

  • Assistant Minister for Arab and Middle Eastern Affairs 2012-2014

  • Director of Egypt’s Public Information Service 2004-2006

  • Served in various embassies, including Washington (1984-1988), Lisbon (1990-1994), Tunis (1994-1998), Brussels (1999-2001) and Paris (2001-2004).

Read more

Ms Ouided Bouchamaoui.jpg

Ms Ouided Bouchamaoui
Nobel Peace Prize 2015 winner

  • Nobel Peace Prize 2015 winner

  • Leader of the Tunisian Confederation of Industry, Trade and Handicrafts (UTICA)

  • one of the Top 25 Business Women in Africa (Jeune Afrique)

  • The Oslo Business for Peace Award winner.

Read more

Heinz Fischer.jpg

Honorable Heinz Fischer
11th President of the Republic of Austria

  • 11th President of the Republic of Austria (2004 – 2016)

  • Ban Ki-moon Center for Global Citizens, Co-Chair

Read more

Donald J. Johnston.jpg

Mr Donald J. Johnston
(former Minister of State of the Canadian Government)

  • Senior Minister in the Canadian Government under PM Pierre Trudeau as President of the Treasury Board,

  • Minister of State for Science and Technology,

  • Minister of State for Economic and Regional Development.

  • Minister of Justice and Attorney General under PM John Turner.

  • Secretary-General of the OECD Paris (1996 – 2006), the nomination of Canadian PM Jean Chrétien.

  • The first non-European to occupy this prestigious position, he was re-elected for a second term in 2001.

Read more

Ioannis Varoufakis.png

Professor Ioannis Varoufakis
Former Minister, Economist, Politician

  • Economist

  • Politician

  • Bestsellers’ author

  • Former Finance Minister, Hellenic Government (One of the leading thinks and practitioners of the contemporary world)

Read more


Honourable David M. Malone
Recteur de l'Université des Nations unies

  • Rector of the United Nations University (Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations)

Read more

His Excellency Carlos Mario FORADORI.jpg

His Excellency Carlos Mario FORADORI
Ambassador of the Republic of Argentina

  • Ambassador of the Republic of Argentina

Read more